Most competitive LGUs hailed at the 6th Regional Competitiveness Summit last August 16, 2018 at the Reception Hall of the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC)

Pasay City, Philippines. The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) recognizes the most competitive local government units in the Philippines during the 6th edition of the Regional Competitiveness Summit, highlighting the results of the Cities and Municipalities Competitiveness Index (CMCI).

Leading the overall most competitive Highly Urbanized City (HUC) is Quezon City, which won the same title last year. The second placer, City of Manila, retain its rank from last year. Third placer, Pasay City improved from 4th last year. For the overall most competitive Component and Independent Cities, Legazpi City rose to the top ranking, from 5th place last year. Naga City and Tagum City retain its ranking as 2nd and 3rd placer respectively.

Municipalities of Taytay rose to the top ranking replacing last year’s Cainta which now ranks second overall most competitive 1st-2nd class municipality. Malay, Aklan ranked third, moving one notch up from forth last year. For the 3rd-6th class municipalities, Pura, Tarlac made a huge jump to the top place from previous 250th place. Lamut, Ifugao ranked 2nd from 18th place last year, while Pontevedra, Negros Occidental placed 3rd from 431th last year.

Rizal province remained as the overall most competitive province, while Laguna is now 2nd place, and Davao del Norte Province at 3rd.

Most Economically Vibrant LGUs

The Economic Dynamism Pillar of CMCI measures the economic activity and productivity of an LGU , which include the size and growth of the local economy (business registrations, capital, revenue, permits), capacity to generate jobs, cost of living, cost of business, etc.

For the HUCs, Quezon City regains the spot as the top performer, displacing last year’s Pasay City, which is now at second place. Davao City inched to the 3rd from previous 4th place. For Component Cities, Naga City made it to the top, being first in the rankings. Legazpi City, Albay landed in 2nd place, and City of Imus, Cavite move up one step to third place.

Cainta, Rizal, Taytay, Rizal and Sto. Tomas, Batangas retain its spot as the most economically dynamic 1st-2nd municipality being the 1st, 2nd and 3rd placer respectively. First time winners emerged in the 3rd-6th class municipalities as Pura, Tarlac ranked no.1 in this category, with Jagna and Antequera, both from the province of Bohol place 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Most efficient LGUs

In the Government Efficiency Pillar, competitiveness of LGUs is determined through the reliability and quality of government support for effective and sustainable expansion, and absence of corruption.

Pasay City reign in this category as the top most efficient LGUs followed by San Juan who moved up 11 notches from 13 last year, with Manila at 3rd place. Tagum City, Davao del Norte topped the Component Cities in this pillar, followed by Dumaguete, Negro Oriental and Cotabato City.

In the 1st-2nd class municipalities, Carmona, Cavite took the highest spot in this category, with Polangui, Albay at second, and San Jose Antique at third. New LGU topped the 3rd -6th class municipalities as Pura, Tarlac got the 1st Place, Bauko, Mountain Province maintain its ranking to 2nd place, while Salay, Mountain Province in 3rd Place.

Infrastructure-sufficient LGUs

The third pillar measures the availability of necessary physical building blocks that connect and sustain a locality and its surroundings to enable provision of goods and services. Data involved includes existing road network, distance from major ports, availability of basic utilities, internet connection, etc.

For the HUC Category, Quezon City, Manila and Davao maintain its last year’s position as the top, second and third place in this pillar. Legaspi City ranked first among Component Cities with Naga City, Camarines Sur at 2nd and Tagum City, Davao del Norte at 3rd. Municipalities of Malay, Aklan (1st), Baliwag, Bulacan (2nd), and Cainta, Rizal (3rd), topped the 1st-2nd class municipalities category. For the 3rd-6th class municipalities, Pura, Tarlac ranked first, followed by Pontevedra, Negros Occidental (2nd), and Allacapan, Cagayan (3rd).

Most resilient LGUs

The fourth pillar measures the capability of an LGU to sustain competitiveness. Resiliency at the context of local level is defined as ability of the people, households, communities, countries, and systems to mitigate, adapt to and recover from shocks and stresses and manner that reduces chronic vulnerability and facilitates inclusive growth.

Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental led the HUC Category, followed by Davao City, Davao del Sur in 2nd place and Muntinlupa in 3rd place. In the Component Cities, Tanauan City, Batangas is the most resilient followed by Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro (2nd) who retain its spot last year and Gapan, Nueva Ecija in 3rd place. Taytay, Rizal led the 1st-2nd Class municipalities in terms of resiliency, next is Cabiao, Nueva Ecija (2nd) and Lambunao, Iloilo (3rd). Lamut, Ifugao ranked first among 3rd-6th class municipalities, together with Sierra Bullones, Bohol (2nd) and Zaragosa, Nueva Ecija (3rd).

Most improved LGUs

NCC also acknowledges the efforts exerted by LGUs in improving their standing in the competitiveness index. The following LGUs were recognized for the substantial gains they made in the rankings: for HUC- Iloilo City, Iloilo (1st), Mandaue City, Cebu (2nd), Bacolod City, Negros Occidental (3rd); for Component Cities- Mabalacat City, Pampanga (1st), Cadiz City, Negros Occidental (2nd) and Talisay City, Cebu (3rd); for 1st-2nd class municipalities- San Jose, Antique (1st), Kalibo, Aklan (2nd), and Sibalom, Antique (3rd); and lastly for 3rd-6th class municipality- Malinao, Aklan (1st) , Zaragoza, Nueva Ecija (2nd), and Dao, Capiz (3rd).

The Cities and Municipalities Competitiveness Index is an annual ranking developed by the National Competitiveness Council (NCC) and the Department of trade and Industry (DTI) through the Regional Competitiveness Committees (RCC) with the support of United States Agency for International Development (USAID).